Turkish Cartoon Contest Awards Iranian Artists

Alalamalislami: Three Iranian artists have been awarded at the 2015 edition of Turkey’s AydinDogan International Cartoon Contest.


Mohsen Nouri-Najafi and Jalal Pirmarzabad won the second and third awards of the event, while SamanTorabi received the Merit Award of the annual contest.

The first prize of the 32nd AydinDogan International Cartoon Contest went to Albanian cartoonist AgimSulaj.

The top winner of the contest will receive 8,000 USD, while the first and second runner ups will receive 5,000 USD and 3,000 USD respectively.

The winning cartoons of the contest will be displayed at the MiltaBodrum Marina Ottoman Shipyard Kaymakamlik Art Gallery from June 17 to 25, 2015.

This year’s participants depicted the world’s most critical problems in their works in order to raise awareness about pressing issues such as war and terror.

Nearly 800 artists from 66 countries, including Spain, Cuba, Japan, Germany, Brazil, Turkey, Mexico, France, Serbia and Russia, presented their works during the latest edition of the contest.

The event’s jury panel was chaired by Greek artist Michael Kountouris. He was joined with ErcanAkyol, LatifDemirci, SelcukDemirel, PiyaleMadra (Turkey), BayramHajizadeh (Azerbaijan), Godfrey Mwampembwa (Tanzania), Yuko Shimizu (Japan) and Jen Sorensen (US).

Organized by Turkey’s AydinDogan Foundation, the international contest is considered the cartoon Oscars and attracts the most prominent artists of the artistic genre every year.

Add new comment